Introducing Guest Users

Communicating with your clients and getting on the same page from the very beginning can make a huge difference in whether or not your projects will turn out successful.

With Paymo, you can now add clients as guest users directly into your workflow, at no extra costs.

Guest users

Guests are a new type of user that allow you to give your clients (or any stakeholder) visibility over a project and its progress. You can also decide whether they should be able to add tasks on their own – thanks to the guest permissions.

How to add guest users

To add a guest, go to the People module (sidebar menu) → GuestsAdd guest.

NOTE: Guests are not assigned to a client, as they can range from clients to sponsors, suppliers, or temporary contract workers.

Guest user permissions

When it comes to user rights, guests are similar to regular users, but with a set of limited permissions. By default, they are able to:

View projects/tasks/time reports/invoices/estimates shared with them View upcoming milestones Create new Discussions and comment inside them

You can, however, give them extra rights from Privileges like the ability to:

Add tasks on their own Comment at a task level

After you click Save Guest, they will be notified by email and be able to set their own password.

NOTE: Remember that guests CAN’T:

Be assigned to a task, nor assign users to a task Modify task details for an existing task not added by them Access the Files area Access the Expenses module Track time Guest visibility

With the addition of guests, we’ve re-imagined the sharing options from the ground up, going from a fragmented level of access to a more unified control. 

Hence, we’ve removed the Share box from certain items and replaced it with an explicit sharing access – an orange eye icon. The icon also has another function. Whenever you’re going to see it with a number on it, it will indicate the number of guests the item has been shared with.

This bears a few UX implications as follows.

How to share a project

We’ve simplified the Add Project pop-up and moved the Assign Users area to the project’s upper right corner.

To share a project with a client, click on it → Search after the existing guests → Select which of them to be part of it.

You can also invite people who are not part of Paymo yet, then set them up as guests.

NOTE: Don’t worry, guests will not have access to sensitive data like the Time Worked, Unbilled AR, and Project Timesheet areas. The Files area will remain designated only to you and your team, so you can collaborate in a shared, private space.

There’s on special case when guests can view expenses, and that is when an expense has been attached to an invoice that’s been shared with them.

How to share a task

To share a task with a guest, open the Full Task Details → Click on the visibility dropdown → Visible to Guests and our Team. This will allow all guests that you’ve shared the project with to view the task. So beware whom you’re sharing the

Continue reading

This post was originally published on this site